Make GW2 Great Again

Make GW2 Great Again

in Guild Wars 2: Heart of Thorns

Posted by: Zwolf.2386

Zwolf.2386

Okay. Let me preface by saying I hope someone actually takes the time to read this.

I have no degree in game design or anything like that. The only proof to my opinion is that I’ve played a decent handful of games throughout my life and I’m a decently high ranked League of Legends player. I’ve been a Dungeon Master for a couple DnD groups as well, which would be the closest experience I would have to any sort of game design. When I was a kid, I actually grew up wanting to make games, and debated applying to Riot Games when I graduated college, but I didn’t end up pursuing it. Without trying to brag, my point would be that I think I’m experienced in games enough to form an opinion on this.

I would say I’m a pretty average gamer. I’m a 23 year old with a Bachelor’s degree in sciences. I work 40 hours a week and spend my free time on my computer. As far as MMOs go, I’ve primarily played World of Warcraft since it came out, taking breaks here and there. I’ve tried many many free MMOs in the mean time. Nothing has ever “scratched the itch” that playing WoW has put on me. Something always brings me back to playing WoW, and no other game has ever come close to the same amount of fun that I have with that game.

My girlfriend got into GW2 and asked me to play with her, so I gave it a shot. I remember spending a lot time trying to pick my first character. GW2 actually have some interesting races! It was a really nice change of pace from your average MMO. Even if Sylvari are similar to “elves” in other games, they’re different enough to feel the difference.

(It’s actually pretty interesting, because normally EVERY game has humans being the “new, young” race, where in this case, Sylvari are the youngest but they also are the ones that resemble elvish type races, which are normally the oldest).