New to the game, wondering who to boost

in Guild Wars 2: Heart of Thorns

Posted by: syphonmana.7634

syphonmana.7634

As the title suggest, I’m a complete newb to guild wars as a whole, and I’m wondering which class to boost. I plan to make another char, possibly my main, that I level up from the start, but as far my boost goes I just really want a satisfying class.

To that end, I played WoW for ~12 years, and i LOVE to heal, even though my friend said the closest to that is combat healer, that’s okay as long as it’s fun. I also loved the amount of control mages had, teleporting, food, they could do anything utilitarian wise and that was dope. To my understanding mesmer is somewhat the same.

Supporting in any way is really my jam, and my friend said guardian was pretty close to that kind of thing. What say the forums? Any help would be immensely appreciated

Posted by: Wazzouf.2748

Wazzouf.2748

Have you ever thought about Druid? It’s the ranger’s elite spec and it’s a good combination of support/heal/damage plus you can tame pets…who doesn’t like pets?

It’s great in PvP, great in PvE, Awesome at raiding.

Posted by: Dadnir.5038

Dadnir.5038

You can pretty much support with any profession except the necromancer… Well some will argue that the necromancer have support but there is still a difference between support and debuffing.

If you “love” to heal, I’m not sure if GW2 is for you but you can aim for an elementalist, a ranger or a revenant.
- My personnal opinion is that the elementalist is the profession with which it is the easier to do so or perhaps the less tricky.
- The core ranger have some healing abilities but to really have an impact with your heal, you’ll need to achieve the druid specialization (While I personnaly have a really poor opinion of the druid avatar, I’m still forced to recognize that it’s the meta healer at the moment).