Playable Hylek Race

Playable Hylek Race

in Guild Wars 2: Heart of Thorns

Posted by: Tobacco.6815

Tobacco.6815

I am new to GW2 and don’t know much about the upcoming expansion. Are there any plans to add a new playable race? I watched the videos GW2 posted on their Heart of Thorns website, but they seemed to be keeping a bunch of stuff secret. Personally, I would love to be able to play as a Hylek. Whenever I am running around questing I find myself stopping and staring at the Hylek npcs and their various armors and animations. They are hands down the coolest race in GW2 and in any mmo I have seen. I keep thinking about the possible racial skills, dances, and emotes they could have. Their little villages are sweet looking and their major city would be even cooler. I would gladly pay $100 to play as one.

Playable Hylek Race

Posted by: Knighthonor.4061

Knighthonor.4061

No new playable races.

Playable Hylek Race

Tobacco.6815

Man, that is a real bummer. I think the other races are great, except for the Charr. I really think playing as a frog-person would have made up for the unimaginative, generic Charr race. lol Maybe in the future…

Playable Hylek Race

Posted by: Diovid.9506

Diovid.9506

Man, that is a real bummer. I think the other races are great, except for the Charr. I really think playing as a frog-person would have made up for the unimaginative, generic Charr race. lol Maybe in the future…

How exactly are the Charr generic? I can kinda see how the Norn are generic (them kinda sorta being big dwarves) or the Sylvari (them kinda sorta being wood elves) or the Asura (them kinda sorta being gnomes*). I actually think the Charr are the least generic of GW2’s playable races.

*In fact the guy who came up with gnomes for one of the dnd worlds also came up with the asura (Jeff Grubb).

Playable Hylek Race

Tobacco.6815