Raids taking up World Map space?

in Guild Wars 2: Heart of Thorns

Posted by: Oldirtbeard.9834

Oldirtbeard.9834

So let me get this straight, ANet is taking away potential Open World Content by sectioning off World Map sections into raids which are blocked off by a high skill ceiling; I see something seriously wrong with this.

I wasn’t happy to begin with that there might be people prohibited from Raiding because of a Gear Check when Colin clearly stated in the Raid intro presentation that there would be no barrier for entry. So now we’re not only supposed to invest half a thousand plus gold into crafting ascended armor to raid, we’re also time gated behind the crafting cd’s, and now after months of crafting we can only access cordoned off World Map chunks if we’re part of an organized raiding team regardless of any real life circumstances that would prevent us from joining a raiding guild.

Hey ANet, I started playing GW2 years ago because I work nights, and I never have a set schedule, at least in your original game I had the whole open world to enjoy massive events in Orr, Maguma Wastes, World Bosses; but now apparently chunks of the actual open world are going to be exclusive to people that have less life restrictions.

This seems to be confirmed in a Wooden Potatoes video.

PS Can I get a partial refund since it looks like you’re cutting me off of at least 20% of what should be open world, since apparently it stares you right in the face when you hit M for Map?

PSS No one’s remotely bothered by this?

(edited by Oldirtbeard.9834)

Posted by: Just a flesh wound.3589

Just a flesh wound.3589

They can always move it up in the mists or underground or even some other spot if they need that particular piece of real estate.

Here is a map of the world with the areas covered by Guild Wars 1. The top square is where we are now, and the Guild Wars 1 map is larger than ours just for that part. I think we have a bit more to go before we run out of map space.