Revenant's Staff - Martial Artist Perspective

in Guild Wars 2: Heart of Thorns

Posted by: Salvatore.3749

Salvatore.3749

Hello all,

I have scanned the forum and I am not sure if anyone else noticed the Revenant’s auto attack with staff.

As a martial artist, I have never been bothered by any weapon mechanics in this game. Sure, I have taken Haidong Gumdo and understand the mechanics of swinging a two handed sword, have learned how to fight with a staff for Tae Kwon Do, trained in Shaolin Kungkittenusing staff and swords, etc. However, my beta Revenant (a human male) using staff’s auto attack bothers me because towards the end of the chain, mechanically, he would hit himself in the head.

I am not sure if the body adjustments need to be made for human males or any other races, but I felt it worth providing the feedback.

I have included videos below the last couple paragraphs for review. They are short videos with simple forms and movements. Notice the positioning of their heads when swinging the staff overhead; subtle tilts.

Now for the specs of my computer, Dell Inspiron 3000 (Popular Dell Computer for 2014), graphical and video settings for the last Beta Event were set to medium for game play.

If anyone else noticed this same movement on human male Revenants, please comment so ANET may fix it.

Posted by: nacario.9417

nacario.9417

Thank you for providing these. Im sure many will agree with u that staff animations needs tweaking

Power Ranger PvP
I used to be a power ranger, now not sure anymore

Posted by: Kill.3458

Kill.3458

Look at the DD, would love a martial artists perspective on the Daredevil’s animations.

Posted by: Gav.1425

Gav.1425

I thought about something here and talking crap but OP’s feedback is actually pretty good.

+1

Posted by: feight.2704

feight.2704

Yes, the staff animation is very strange and not compelling at all.
+1 for bringing that up.

Posted by: ScribeTheMad.7614

ScribeTheMad.7614

Agreed! Needs some tweaking.