Suggestion: Glider Mechanics w/ High Latency

in Guild Wars 2: Heart of Thorns

Posted by: Avelos.6798

Avelos.6798

Hello!

This is gonna be something that players with high latency including myself will be absolutely ecstatic for including myself.

So players with high ping. We see them every now and then, how they rip around the map doing whatever, but oftentimes we see them rubber banding, taking delayed moments to do something, etc. They might have high latency. I myself play with on average 700-800 ping.

Though how I am able to even continue playing the game is that my movement is done client side. IE, I can move my character, and then after the response time kicks in, it shows my characters moving on other people’s screens. About a single second delay. Cool, that’s livable. I’ve been playing this game for two years like this.

But one of the major mechanics of Guild Wars 2 Heart of Thorns, the Glider, does not follow this same principle, and I’m sure a fair amount of players can relate when they say that most of the time, it’s simply not usable.

Believe me, I would have better internet service type if I could in no time flat. But maybe this idea can help.

What if Glider deployment was also done client side? Hit space bar, glider comes out, the response time kicks in, then other players see it? This would let people with high latency like myself and others be able to have instant access to the gliders and actually be able to get places. Though I honestly have no clue if this would even be possible to do, but one can hope, right?

In the end if it were possible, that would mean that I could get to say the top of the Great Tree in Tangled Depths without a Mesmer portal. I could fly around each map and reach every place I can’t at the moment. It’s an exciting thought. And while that’s happening, everyone can see me fall to my doom and then suddenly reappear in the sky still flying gracefully!

Does this even make sense?