Guild War 2 Novels

Guild War 2 Novels

in Lore

Posted by: plletz.6940

plletz.6940

I am new to the Guild Wars 2 game, and as such haven’t played the first part, which is a trilogy (available on steam). GW 2 could just be the came that could get me hooked on. I would like to read more about GW2 story – Which is the novel that I should be reading so that I can understand the story line much better in GW2?

If someone could shed light on this less talked about topic, it would be great!

Guild War 2 Novels

in Lore

Posted by: Frosch.7809

Frosch.7809

The three GW2 novels are Ghosts of Ascalon, Edge of Destiny and Sea of Sorrows. All three deal with selected aspects of the overall picture of the GW universe.

Ghosts of Ascalon, the first to be published, is chronologically closest to the actual start of GW2, the year 1325. It tells how the peace negotiations between human Kryta and the Charr became possible, by a group of adventurers searching for an artifact of great importance to the Charr. The novel is highly interesting to read for those interested in the Prophecies campaign of GW1, in old GW1 lore.

Edge of Destiny, published second, plays a few years before GoA and has the most relevance to your personal story in GW2. It tells how the racial mentors you meet ingame came together to fight Elder Dragon champions and how they tried to kill an Elder Dragon, failed and split up. But ingame their ongoing story is mostly told in the dungeons. Still, the novel explains their story far better than what you get to know ingame.

Sea of Sorrows tells the events during the lifetime of one person, mostly the rising of the Elder Dragon Zhaitan, the world-changing destruction it caused and what came out of it – the destruction of the old city of Lion’s Arch and how it got “rebuilt”. It is the most distant in time to the ingame events.