Renewable Energy

Renewable Energy

in Lore

Posted by: I See No Tomorrow.7302

I See No Tomorrow.7302

So first of all there are a variety of things to take into account here: Tyria is a fictional world, and a world that exists as a video game. So things in Tyria are meant to be interpreted in more flexible ways when there is direct player interaction.

Example: are there really infinitely respawning nodes of copper throughout Tyria? I’d venture that harvestable nodes like that aren’t exactly in line with the lore. A variety of other things aren’t in line either.

My interest instead lies in a few things that we know are relatively finite. One of these is magical energy. I’m not an expert but I’ve been engaged with the lore for a while now and it seems like the Elder Dragons function on a cycle of Absorb Magic -> Sleep -> Magic Seeps Back Into The World -> Awaken -> Repeat. The bloodstone (not the little ones but the huge one that was eventually broken) was created by the Seers to protect magic against Dragon corruption.

So I suppose my interest lies in Tyria’s relationship with the Mists. It doesn’t seem like the Mists interact with any other realm apart from Tyria as far as we know, although the Six Gods and humans must have come from somewhere since they’re not native to Tyria. Is it true, then, that magic is a finite resource that the Elder Dragons could conceivably dry up? If one can escape to the Mists and still have functional magic?