Newbie with Questions re Living World

in Living World

Posted by: Edmund Dantes.8674

Edmund Dantes.8674

I am very new to GW2. I’ve been reading about the Living World (LW) but am not sure I understand, so I have some questions.

First, is the LW just an evolving story line that GW2 developers create? How is it different , if at all, from new content that’s added to other MMO’s?

And how is the LW different from an add-on like HoT? Is it just that you don’t have to pay extra for the LW additional content?

Finally, I’ve read places that say that LW episode 1 is not available to play? Is that right? If it is correct, will I be able to play LW episodes 2 and 3? Even if I am able to play episodes 2 and 3 without having played 1, how will i understand the story if I’ve missed the first episode?

Thanks very much for any explanations.

in Living World

Posted by: Yargesh.4965

Yargesh.4965

They are independent side stories. Season one was set up to be there and gone like a living world thus the name. A lot disliked this so season 2 is permanent in all aspects. The seasons are also designed to keep people playing and are free if you log in during the window they are released in. They have said that even if you do not have HoT you will still bank the episodes when you log in and be able to play if at some future date you buy the current version of the game.

in Living World

Posted by: ElijahFitzroy.5762

ElijahFitzroy.5762