Brand new to game

Brand new to game

in Players Helping Players

Posted by: stvibes.5930

stvibes.5930

Q:

I just started playing. Love the game. But how do I unlock traits? An what is a good melee class for wvw, also to quest? Played a warrior, pally, an rogue in wow. Still getting used to everything. Any tips would help a lot ????

“I drift between the moments of sanity like snowflakes on the wind.
A breeze of life, that becomes death with just a simple shiver.”-Stvibes

Brand new to game

Posted by: Guardian of Angels.9867

Guardian of Angels.9867

Hi there! and welcome

I won’t have all the answers so I’ll just throw in my opinion

1. Don’t compare this game to WoW, we don’t have a trinity!
  2. Traits are unlocked by doing certain events (from level 11+), you should be able to see what events by clicking on them.
  3. Sometimes it’s better to have multiple characters for WvW/PvE, though Guardian/Warrior might be nice to try out (Most if not all classes can both do good melee and ranged damage) So it’s really up to your personal choice

The most important tip:
Enjoy the game while leveling, end-game in GW2 isn’t what you’re used to in WoW.
(or so I’ve been told)

aka Holy Blood Guardian
Guild Website: http://www.wtnf.net
Youtube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCb07P-bW94jE3-mKHGToyOg

Brand new to game

Posted by: Donari.5237

Donari.5237

More specifically on the traits, once they are visible in your traits panel you can mouse over the little spyglass/scout icon on the list of traits on the left side of the panel to see what it says to do to get that trait. I think you don’t get traits until a lot later than 11 now, more like 30? I could be wrong on that, I’ve only leveled one post-revamp alt.