Button pressing and keybinds

in Players Helping Players

Posted by: lalex.6350

lalex.6350

Hi

Im kinda new to PvP and having a lot of fun in it. But to be honest, playing engineer I’m just mashing buttons and pressing the wrong ones a lot of the time. Does anyone have any tips? Get a gaming mouse/keyboard?

And what keybinds do you recommend?

Thanks so much.

Posted by: JustTrogdor.7892

JustTrogdor.7892

Yes, get a gaming mouse. It will enhance your game play significantly once you get used to it. I suggest a Logitech G600 (others may suggest Razor but I have seen a lot of complaints about Razor mice breaking too easily). My G600 has held up to a ton of abuse. The multiple buttons fit the thumb fine and the buttons are easy to differentiate due to the layout. As for keybinds, once you get a gaming mouse it is up to your personal taste. Play around with them and select the key binds that seem more automatic to you. Personally, I use a combination of mouse buttons and keyboard buttons that I know I can hit without thinking or reaching to far.

The Burninator

(edited by JustTrogdor.7892)

Posted by: Danikat.8537

Danikat.8537

The default keybindings are definitely difficult, especially for engineers.

But what’s better is really up to you. I recommend experimenting with a few ideas, and if you’ve not had a gaming mouse before ideally go to a store where you can try out a few to see what you like.

My solution is to use the number pad for skills, F1-4 and a few other things like take target and weapon swap. It works especially well for me because I’m left-handed, so my right hand is on the keyboard and I can use my thumb on the arrow keys to move.

Other ideas I’ve seen people mention are using 1-5 and shift+1-5 so you don’t have to move your hand around as much, or rebinding half your skills below or around the movement keys. For example 1-5, Q, E, R, F and \ – V.

Danielle Aurorel, Dear Dragon We Got Your Cookies [Nom], Desolation (EU).