Can I PvE with a rifle?

Can I PvE with a rifle?

in Players Helping Players

Posted by: Buckman.1275

Buckman.1275

So I’m pretty new to this game, and am really loving it so far. Having been playing MMO’s since 2003. And this is a really great change to the genre

Now I have been playing an engineer, and really like it. So I was looking into how to get gear, farm materials, crafting, the works. So once I hit 80, I decided to set some goals for myself. I got leather working to 400 and huntsman to 400 so I could get to work on making my own ascended armor and weapon. And spending my accumulated karma on exotic gear.

Then a couple days ago, luck smiles upon me with an ascended weapon box from Teq

Now I have been leveling with a rifle because that is what a lot of guides and leveling builds said was the best vs pistol/shield or pistol/pistol.

But now I have been doing more research on what is the best setup for doing world bosses, fractals, and dungeons. Not raids, don’t have time or a schedule reserved for that. And as it turns out, I can’t find much advice about PvE builds using a rifle. It’s all PvP and WvW with a rifle, which I have little desire to do. It seems to be all about pistol/pistol for condition damage. And I have no problem with that. I love putting burning, bleeding, and poison dots on mobs. But, I don’t have an ascended pistol(s)…

So TL;DR—- Can I do PvE with a rifle? Can I do some small group and zerg PvE content with my new shiny Berzerker rifle? Or did I just literally shoot myself in the foot with the wrong choice?

And if I can do PvE content with a rifle, please give me some tips on a build I can use. Preferably one with SOME survivability. I can’t seem to heal myself for anything… It’s like my healing turret heals me from a different zone instance its that low…

Can I PvE with a rifle?

Posted by: nottsgman.8206

nottsgman.8206

this is an engi build that uses a rifle and is good for fractals: