Help a new player-Dungeons, classes and more

in Players Helping Players

Posted by: Jandau.5349

Jandau.5349

First of all, I hope I’m posting this in the right forum section, this is the closes I could find to a New Players forum…

I’m fairly new to the game (43 guardian, 20ish mesmer, a few chars under 10) and I’ve been getting a handle on it fairly well, but I do have a few questions that I’d appreciate some help with. I’m mostly interested in exploration and dungeons, with maybe some large scale PvP on the side.

1. What’s the “accepted” method for finding dungeon groups? Most MMOs I played would have presented some option by this point, either through a LFG channel, a Global chat, a Dungeon Finder or at least a Local chat in some obvious location. I’ve found no such answer in GW2 thus far. I kinda hoped Lion’s Arch would turn out to be such a place, but no luck. I’d like to try running some AC on my Guardian, but I’m not sure how to go about finding a group…

2. I’ve been trying to sort out the class situation at high levels. From what I can gather, Warriors and Mesmers rule high end PvE, Hunters suck in dungeons, Thiefs suck in PvE and Engis and Necros suck everywhere (not my words, just repeating what I heard). My current main, 43 Guardian is OK, but getting kinda boring and I’d like to try another class. Hunter, Necro and Ele look like fun, but I’d hate to put in time to level one only to run into a brick wall at 80. As I said, I’m mostly a solo player. I enjoy exploring, events, and I’d like to run the occasional dungeon or some WvWvW from time to time. I’m not looking to be a PvP god or a high-end raider.