Help defeat my RSI issues

in Players Helping Players

Posted by: Sungak Alkandenes.1369

Sungak Alkandenes.1369

For anyone not familiar with the term, RSI is Repetitive Strain Injury. It usually manifests in typists as Carpel Tunnel Syndrome, but can cause other problems too. And its shockingly painful if you’re not used to it…

Anyway. :-) I’m a programmer / SysAdmin, so its important that I don’t kill my wrists/hands. Until now, I’ve been able to manage in Online Gaming by participating in the non-traditional formats – such as Myst Online and Eve Online – as well as more social platforms like Second Life.

And in trying this game over the months, I’ve realized I have a problem – GW2’s command concept (as a whole) does not work for me physically; I cannot use my pinky or ring fingers (of either hand) for very long without killing them. That’s huge here – it means the 1/2 weapon commands are very hard to work regularly. And the large number of key commands needed are not helping either.

So, is there a way to get around this? I’ve been seeing the occasional discussion of re-mapping analog controllers, and I’m very intrigued by it. I already have one from Logitech (which I bought for something else and then shelved), so it should be pretty easy to setup.

Thanks in advance. o7

“The Meta Game does not stop at the game. Ever.” — Me
I like to view MMOs through the lazy eye of a Systems Admin, and the critical eye of a
Project Manager. You’ve been warned. ;-)

Posted by: nealpatel.3406

nealpatel.3406

You have already mentioned what I was going to suggest which would be to get a controller that is more friendly to your hands and remap any controls you struggle with to it. It will take some tweaking but I am sure you will find a way that works. I know of the razer naga gaming mouse which may help aswell, look it up, it is pricey but it should help a LOT if you are willing to spend the money.

Good luck!

Posted by: Baladir.2736

Baladir.2736