How Does WvW Work?

How Does WvW Work?

in Players Helping Players

Posted by: alejhondo.9146

alejhondo.9146

Q:

So I’m fairly new to Gw2 and I tried WvW the other day but I couldn’t quite figure out what I was supposed to do. I’m not trying to say anything bad about the game, I love it! I was just wondering if someone could give me a step by step explanation of what to do right as you enter WvW for the first time.

How Does WvW Work?

Posted by: Mystic.5934

Mystic.5934

A:

1) identify what color your server is for that week. you can either click ‘B’ (takes you to WvW screen) and see which background your server is, or you can go to your server’s borderlands and see what color the home area in the top middle is.
2a) follow any commander tag
2b) look on the map for places that are any color other than your server’s and go capture it. soloing is probably not a good idea for towers/keeps/castle (though that would be awesome), but is doable for resource camps and sentries. There are youtube videos of players capturing a tower alone… usually by being locked inside when it was captured, then just killing the lord after everyone leaves.

How Does WvW Work?

Posted by: Lindbur.2537

Lindbur.2537

A remnant of times past.
“Memories are nice, but that’s all they are.”

How Does WvW Work?

Posted by: Behellagh.1468

Behellagh.1468

Think of it as a continuous week of capture the flag but with siege weapons and unruly mobs between three worlds on four maps. Every X number of minutes points are rewarded based on who has what. More points you world has, more bonuses your world has, even in PvE.

You personally get WvW XP based on what you do and you get points that you can invest into WvW skills to make your character more awesome in WvW.

We are heroes. This is what we do!

RIP City of Heroes

How Does WvW Work?

Posted by: Contiguous.1345

Contiguous.1345

The short answer is ‘die’.

Long answer:-