I'm new and find levelling hard

in Players Helping Players

Posted by: Alpher.5387

Alpher.5387

I’m new to this game, and I’ve been having trouble keeping in levels with my quests, for example, I’m level 6 but my quests are level 8-10.

Any way for me to easily keep in levels? or some way for me to get exp to get to level of my quests, since they are quite hard to do when I’m underleveled by a significant amount

Posted by: HELLruler.4820

HELLruler.4820

Do some events. You’ll see an orange thing on your map, they give you a good amount of exp
Gathering materials and crafting stuff is great for leveling
Try going to other beginning areas: Queensdale, Plains of Ashford, Caledon Forest

Posted by: Gilosean.3805

Gilosean.3805

First off, welcome!

XP is earned a little differently in Guild Wars 2 than in other MMOs. Everything you do earns you XP. There is literally nothing you do that doesn’t give you XP except for changing / re-dyeing your outfit. I’ve seen some new players make the mistake of thinking that they are supposed to go straight from one personal story instance to another. But the game is really set up with the expectation that you are exploring, gathering, doing events and hearts as you go along.

Most people level by doing the following:
Hearts (big yellow hearts on the map once done, empty hearts before completion) give karma and access to merchants (and XP) once completed.
Events (orange circles, monsters or swords on the map) give gold (and XP).

Gathering crafting mats with a pick, axe or sickle gives easy XP plus a mat to use or sell.
Killing mobs also gives XP plus drops or mats.

If you are in an area where the mobs and events are above your level, you should go back and finish exploring lower-level areas. Or, you can go to Lion’s Arch and go through Asura gates to get to the other beginning zones if you want.