Is it worth it to use Exotic trinkets?

in Players Helping Players

Posted by: Toolbox.9375

Toolbox.9375

Instead of Ascended ones, I mean. Particularly to be able to put Platinum Doubloons in their Upgrade Slots for that extra Boon Duration.

If it matters, I’m an Engineer using Celestial trinkets, as I like to be able to switch up my build depending on my team’s needs. I only really play with a dedicated group of friends who are perfectly fine with my lack of “meta” equipment, and I tend to stick to the zerg in WvW, where total build perfection is less of a requirement than roaming. We do Fractals together, but I’m intending to grab myself some Ascended armor for Agony Resistance, instead of needing to use the trinkets for it.

Has anyone else made that sacrifice of stats for Boon Duration? Or is the potential 24% bonus not really worth it?

The class is always greener on the other side.

Posted by: Talyn.3295

Talyn.3295

I don’t think you will find the Boon Duration worth it in comparison to the stats you could have had in that same place. Your Trinkets are going to be giving out a good portion of your status.

Which boons are you most worried about that you feel the extra boon duration is going to be helping with?

Additionally, I am not sure how High in Fractals you are planning on going but Armor alone won’t cut it after a while if you want to be running something like a 50.

“We have now left Reason and Sanity Junction. Next stop, Looneyville.”

Posted by: Toolbox.9375

Toolbox.9375

Due to build-juggling, I won’t necessarily have any one particular Boon that I’ll be trying to extend, but common ones that I do end up applying to myself often are Might, Fury, Regeneration, and Vigor. Quickness comes into play on occasion, too. And I imagine the Boon Duration would also be helpful when using an Experimental Turrets build for Boon-ing my allies.