More questions from another new player

in Players Helping Players

Posted by: Neurik.1624

Neurik.1624

I have been playing the GW2 now for about 2 months casually, but more or less daily. Often times it is just a quick log in for the pve dailies and maybe a few quick global events and then call it a night. So far I have played an elementalist to 80 and now a ranger to 80 and my insta-boost 80 was a guardian that has been on the shelf and unplayed.

For the most part I play solo and I seem to rotate between completing dailies, global boss chain (again solo) and kittening around in Silverwastes or Drytop to casually farm crests and geodes. I have spent a grand total of 20 minutes in the WvW instance and would certainly consider going back and looking for a zerg to join (seems tough to play WvW solo?) and I have done a small handful of fractals and dungeons but nothing consistently and always with PUGs.

Finally I did manage to get my cooking and artificing on my Ranger “main” to 400. All my Ranger/Ele/Guardian gear are exotics and I have bought a few ascended trinkets with the laurel login rewards. For the most part I have salvaged and sold everything I could get my hands on to build up some gold, and then played the TP arbitrage game (always had a bit of merchant in me) to build up a small nest egg of coin.

While I still enjoy the game, my pattern has gotten a bit stale so I am looking for thoughts on what I might try now that I have a little more experience with the game mechanics in general and my characters in particular. Honestly I hate the idea of PUGing as I am terrified of being the reason for a wipe or failure. While I am willing to group, guess I just prefer the thought of being able to simply walk away and not having it adversely affect anyone else.

Finally, the ranger that I have gravitated to is a full condition damage build mostly modeled off of this guy’s idea.

http://metabattle.com/wiki/Build:Ranger-_Full_condition_damage