New Player, Basic Help Questions

in Players Helping Players

Posted by: Clayton.2735

Clayton.2735

Hello all, I am excited to start playing!

I am waiting for my initial download to finish, so I thought it would prove useful to post on the forums. I am brand new to the game – have watched nearly no footage – but picked it up based on a friend’s request and a generous gift card I had lying around. Now that it has been out for a week or so, I was wondering if the more seasoned players had any advice.

I already know I am interested in Rangers and Mesmers, possibly Engineers but I doubt it. I did want to ask if Necromancers were actually viable, or if they fall under the radar as they progress.

Is there a specific place I should go for beginner tips and explanations on mechanics? I do notice a video guide on the launcher, but was unsure if this was the best source or if I should look at a wiki.

What should I be the most excited about, so I don’t miss it? I quite literally no nothing as to what the game will offer me at this point. What sets it apart that will make someone like me – a seasoned MMO player many times over – want to explore its every bit?

Thank you in advance for all your help and support. I look forward to jumping into the game.

Posted by: Setch.2398

Setch.2398

Ranger and Mesmer are both great choices. Honestly, you can’t really make a bad choice. (Although leveling a thief is harder than most)

The game is divided into 3 sections: