New level 80, ways to get a weapon?

in Players Helping Players

Posted by: legion.7518

legion.7518

I’m new to game and first time to 80. I’ve tried reading the guide but I’m still confused. I just want to get a good weapon first, I’ll worry about the rest later. So I guess what I want is an Exotic weapon, right? I haven’t done any crafting. I have about 5 gold and 100K karma. So what’s the best way to get a really good level 80 Greatsword? What are my options?

Posted by: kokocabana.8153

kokocabana.8153

Buy it from the trading post or run some dungeons to get tokens and trade it in for a weapon you like. First figure out what stats you want so you know what to run.

Posted by: legion.7518

legion.7518

What kind of tokens are we talking about exactly? I get confused by all the different forms of currency in this game.

Posted by: kokocabana.8153

kokocabana.8153

At the end of each dungeon in explorable mode, you will get dungeon tokens specific to that dungeon.
http://wiki.guildwars2.com/wiki/Token

You can trade these tokens in at LA to buy exotic equipment. Each dungeon offers several stat combinations but not all.

http://wiki.guildwars2.com/wiki/Equipment_acquisition_by_stats#Dungeons

Posted by: Daywolf.2630

Daywolf.2630

meh just buy a weapon off of TP, some are only a few gold. Then buy a cheap sigil you can use now and upgrade later. Chances are you will pay more in sigils than the weapon itself at some point. Buy like a major bloodlust or superior purity or something, upgrade later if you feel you need to. Chances are you will have more than one GS anyway, if that’s your primary weapon.