New player - need help in key bindings

in Players Helping Players

Posted by: PrinceWarhero.4256

PrinceWarhero.4256

Hello all , first of all i am new to this game and I love it so much. I am happy that i bought the game atleast now..

This is my first MMORPG , i have only player single player and multiplayer games that conventionally follow the keyboard to move and mouse to attack style. And this game clearly cant be played in that way.

I find it very difficult to keep moving and attack/use skill at same time. Also i find it very difficult to quickly place AOE skills. If any1 could tell me a good set of key bindings so that i can move and fight easily it would be very gr8. I am currently using the default ones with the double tap to evade enabled . Also please tell me what kind of assists i should turn on in the settings.

Thanks in advance.

Returning player looking for lots of adventure, join me and we can journey together in Tyria !!

Posted by: Neko Dudley.2495

Neko Dudley.2495

Gate of Madness [MAL] EB
Yarr! I be keeping me pirate runes, Matey. Yarr! You’re welcome. Yarr!

Posted by: jackaljag.8637

jackaljag.8637

A lot of key bindings sadly are down to personal preference, but for what it’s worth here’s what helped me:
-invert strafing and camera turn defaults to get a more ‘normal’ WASD movement type
-disable double-tap dodge and keep it to a key (can’t remember if it’s the default, but I use V), so as to avoid dumb mistakes like accidentally double-tapping in the middle of a jumping puzzle and dodging down to your death
-there’s an option to make targeting more fluid by no longer requiring it to be confirmed with a click but to either instantly drop the skill wherever your mouse pointer currently is or to show the target circle only while you’re pressing down the key and to drop the skill when you release, which I find helps a lot with the whole using skills while moving thing

Joran Blackgear – Engineer – EU | Juras Blackpowder – Engineer – NA