New to GW2/MMORPG - no money & no weapons.

in Players Helping Players

Posted by: shikan.6580

shikan.6580

Q:

Hi,

I’m new to GW2 and to MMORPGs (this is my first). I’m level 6 elementalist, in the queensdale bit and while experimenting with the trading post, I sold my scepter and bought a bunch of stuff so now I have no coins left. Now I only have the trident which apparently is supposed to only work underwater (?) so I’m not able to attack anyone or buy the weapon back. facepalm

I’m used to being able to reload a previous save to get out of errors like this one – this is new to me! Do I have to restart with a new character?

Also – any links to a good newb guide?

Edit – I tried searching the forums but for some reason the forum search doesn’t work regardless of what I search for.

(edited by shikan.6580)

Posted by: Tom Gore.4035

Tom Gore.4035

A:

Hey shikan and welcome to the wonderful world of MMORPGs.

You’re in a sticky position for sure. If you already did purchase any gathering tools (sickle, axe or mining pick), harvest a couple of nodes and sell the result in the Trading Post. With one harvest you should have enough money to buy a new land-based weapon.

If you don’t have any harvesting tools, you can ask people in map chat to send you enough money for a starter weapon, or go to one of the places in queensdale where there is an underwater area. Kill a few mobs and you should get enough money for a starter weapon.

One – Piken Square

Posted by: shikan.6580

shikan.6580

Thanks! I’ll find some copper.

Posted by: Danikat.8537

Danikat.8537

You can complete many heart quests (yellow heart symbol on the map) without any combat. These then reward copper coins and karma, both of which can be used to purchase new weapons. (The karma you get automatically, the coins are delivered by mail.)

Check the list here for heart quests at or below your level:
http://wiki.guildwars2.com/wiki/Queensdale