Newcomer here, WoW veteran, need some tips.

in Players Helping Players

Posted by: Vonkriegor.6851

Vonkriegor.6851

Hey guys, as title says, i’m a newbie in GW, but played many years of WoW.
I’m having a lot of fun and enjoying everything so far, but i didn’t had the chance to try some stuff yet.
I want to know how dungeons/fractals/raids are and how they work here.
Like, how do i access them and how difficult they are compared to WoW? do i need to have a group of fully experienced players with TeamSpeak/Raid call to run a raid, or i can casually join a pug raid as long as i know what to do?
Any tips are welcome, i want to know everything about them.

And another newbie question about the endgame gear.
Can i get the level 80 good stuff by crafting/farming by myself, or do i have to drop them from raids and world bosses?

Posted by: Eros.6801

Eros.6801

First Welcome to Guild Wars 2

This is my view for you

Dungeons – they are pretty easy as long as you know what to do, they offer you tokens as a reward each time you finished a dungeon run to buy exotic rarity gear but each dungeon has it own stats on gear you will get. For example Citadel of Flame will grant you access to Berserker stats gear Power/Precision/Ferocity, dungeons gears are purely cosmetic in end game and just do dun for fun.

Fractal – End game chain dungeons with a chance to drop Ascended gear for more detail just read https://wiki.guildwars2.com/wiki/Fractals_of_the_Mists

Raid – Much easier than WoW but doesnt mean you can beat it with pug grp, need organized group and TS but you can join raid training guild to learn, alot of guild willing to teach out there.

Gear rarity
Fine (Blue) > Masterwork (Green) > Rare (Yellow) > Exotic (Orange) > Ascended (Pink) > Legendary (Purple)

Between Exotic and Ascended – Asc give 10% stats boost ( not much )
Between Ascended and Legendary – Stats are the same but Legendary stuff has glowing, shinies vfx purely cosmetic