Salvage or sell items ?

Salvage or sell items ?

in Players Helping Players

Posted by: JoffreyDePeyrac.7425

JoffreyDePeyrac.7425

Q:

Hello,

I am pretty new to Guild Wars 2, this game excites me a lot ! I am playing about a week and my lvl is 27, I am a kind of roly player, so I am enjoying the story line and living world so much ..

My main question is…. I have some stuff from drops and that bags from champions, in wich i found some “good” items too. What is the best decision to do witch them please ? Is it better to sell them or salvage them for material ?

Thanks for reply and sorry for bad english.

Salvage or sell items ?

Posted by: SandraSolace.7682

SandraSolace.7682

A:

It really depends on what you want.

Salvaging blue and higher gear can give you materials, luck, runes/sigils.
Some items you find you might actually be able to use, like a weapon with better stats.
Selling the items can net you some gold.

So what it comes down to, is what you you need/want the most? The drops you get get better with higher levels and what I tend to do is:
When I level a new char, I sell anything white, salvage anything blue or above (rare/exotic too, unless they are worth more then 30 silver on the tp)
For a max level char like my main, I salvage everything too but I save rare and above weapons to try my luck in the Mystic Forge.
Even for me this does not always go as planned, depending on what I need. If I were to need Ecto’s, I would salvage rare and above for a chance for those items.

Salvage or sell items ?

Posted by: Danikat.8537

Danikat.8537

I go through a 3-step process to decide what to do with items.

1) Can I use it? At lower levels I get most of my gear from drops, so I’ll use anything with a higher armor/damage rating than what I’m currently using and don’t worry too much about the stats. At higher levels I’m more picky.