Should I get new gear before lvl 80?

in Players Helping Players

Posted by: Ultimate is Nap.5879

Ultimate is Nap.5879

I am quite new to gw2 and am currently lvl 25 ele.
My question is if I should get/craft new gear or should I try to go lvl 80 before taking care of this?

Unfortunately so far I played most of the time solo and some advanced areas start to become quite difficult with the gear I have now (which is essentially composed of loot and rewards for personal story)

Posted by: Ignavia.7420

Ignavia.7420

Sticking with your first gear will make the game a lot more difficult.. Don’t bother getting rare/exotic items, though. The masterwork (green) items are good enough until you hit level 80 and they are quite affordable.

I usually get new gear about every 5 levels, by buying it, crafting it myself or using what I find. To buy them, either have a look at the trading post (press o) or visit some NPCs ingame. Also after you completed a renown heart (symbolized by a yellow heart on the map), the NPC will turn into a vendor. Many of them offer decent gear in exchange for karma. You also get useful items by progressing your personal story.

Posted by: Cassocaster.4576

Cassocaster.4576

I would add that you should probably stagger your upgrades at lower levels since gold is hard to earn at first (everything scales so what you earn at level 25 by doing an event jumps with your level as you do that event again). Upgrade your entire set now if your gear is not level 25.

Then, around 30, add an entire set of trinkets (amulet, 2 rings, 2 earrings and a back piece). At 35, swap out your armor and weapons. 40, your trinkets again.

If you stay with green items (mastercraft), most everything will be 2 silver or less, the trinkets may be a touch more, this also scales with level.