Struggling with elementalist - advise please

in Players Helping Players

Posted by: BenHUK.3869

BenHUK.3869

Q:

I’m new to MMOs, I’ve levelled a Sylvari Elementalist to Level 15, and am starting to struggle now. I find myself dying lots in the story events, even those which are levelled below 15. I have been trying to use Dagger+Dagger as guides on here say it is better.

Main Hand : Traders Dagger (Weapon Strength 157 -167., +6 Healing Power, required level = 7)
Off-Hand : Mighty Dagger (150 -159, +7 Power, required level 15)

Any tips? Should I buy a another Mighty Dagger (one that says L15) and replace the Trader’s Dagger (as this is only L7), even though I’d lose the -6 Healing Power?

Posted by: mtpelion.4562

mtpelion.4562

The Personal Story missions tend to be incredibly difficult (sometimes even impossible) when you are low level.

My advice is to level up some more and update your gear, then try again.

When in doubt, use http://wiki.guildwars2.com/wiki/Glyph_of_Lesser_Elementals to get a tanky earth elemental to distract your foes.

Server: Devona’s Rest

Posted by: Flissy.4093

Flissy.4093

Low level stats really don’t make much of a difference. But you should keep your gear at least close to your level, which does include armor too.

Your issue likely stems from inexperience with the dodging mechanic with slow reaction times on attunement swapping with poor cooldown management.

These are things you will just learn in time.

Light Up the Darkness
“Dear ANet, nerf Paper, Scissors is fine. Sincerely, Rock”
Elysaurus | Warrior | [LOL] | League of the Legendary | Gandara (EU)

Posted by: Lazuli.2098

Lazuli.2098