Trying to play with keyboard only

in Players Helping Players

Posted by: Gong.2637

Gong.2637

Hello

Im new to Guild Wars 2, actually new to MMORPGs in general. I came from FPS, H&S, and MOAB and wanted a change of games altogether, but im having lots of problems adjusting to the controls.

My first problem I have is the combat key bindings, its above the movement keys of the standard WASD. This makes movement impossible in the middle of the fights And I feel very awkward when I cant move and hit fast enough. I know u can rebind key to different buttons, but ill get to that after this.

The second is the mouse, what is the point of the mouse in a combat situation besides changing the camera angles? The mouse cannot control movement nor can it control directional targeting. See how when ur in FPS ur gun targeting is aimed at the center of the screen usually, when u move ur targeting, u change the direction you face, and used in conjunction with the W key, u get around to places only by forward and backward, without the need to use the A and D key. However, this wasn’t possible with GW2 since weapon direction does not track the mouse, so that option is out.

Then I tried to look for a way to use the mouse to move my character by clicking on the map, sort of like MOABs when movement is via mouse and combat via keys on the left side of the keyboard, but that wasn’t possible either. So im going to try plan C.

If any of you guys played Dynasty Warriors or Devil May Cry on a keyboard you would know what im trying to do. Take DMC for example, its keyboard only controlled when u don’t have a controller available. Movement via WASD as normal, but combat using the IJKL keys as well, Single target enemy lock-on with SPACE key. So, two hands was needed to perform SSS combos, with both combo timing and judging movement.

Im going to try something similar right now, ill leave WASD as movement, but rebind combat keys to my right hand around the home row area.