What class/build for high-level fractal/raid?

in Players Helping Players

Posted by: Teaniel.9052

Teaniel.9052

I’m relatively new to MMO’s, and generally a pretty casual player, but I’d like to work toward improving myself and getting into harder content. I don’t need to worry about LFG to find a party — I’m a member of a friendly and tremendously helpful guild, but I’m trying to figure out how I can be useful to them in groups.

The problem is, I can’t settle on a class. I’ve got everything except engineer available. Lately I’ve been running fractals and general PvE on my newly unlocked dragonhunter, but tempest (celestial staff) is definitely my favorite PvP class right now (still need to unlock her for PvE), and a friend has been making a convincing argument that I’d love the reaper (also not unlocked yet).

I like the idea of being a tank, and I’ve heard people have been using dragonhunter tanks in the raid – what does your build look like? What should I expect the role to involve?

Also, I’ve realized a couple things about my playstyle lately and why I like certain classes.

• I’m not great at keeping track of the effects of a bunch of skills based on their written descriptions. I like to be able to see that I’m doing something, even if it’s just watching boons stack. What I really like about tempest is how very visual and auditory my skills are: I can easily see my AoE’s, my earth shield, and hear a shout when I use rebound. On the other hand, chronomancer wells look too similar; I keep forgetting what they do.