What professions allow you to play 100% ranged...

in Players Helping Players

Posted by: massacre.2786

massacre.2786

…without severely kittening your damage? Being new to the Guild Wars universe, I am unsure as to which professions can play decently with no melee weapons.

I just started playing a thief and liked the idea of playing a dual pistol (single target) / shortbow (aoe) build. I have no idea if this play style would be viable, but it sounds like a lot of fun to me. I tried the elementalist at first, but found myself just a bit overwhelmed with element swapping and weapon/skill selection. I also thought about trying a ranger out, but read on the forums that their pets die a good bit and can also grab unintended agro.

All advice is greatly appreciated!

Posted by: Critwrench.8432

Critwrench.8432

Warrior.
Elementalist.
Necromancer (Kind of, depends on how far you consider ‘ranged’)
Mesmer.
Engineer’s weapons are all ranged, they have no melee. (Some of their skills are close-range though, and they have kits)

A shallow ocean only contains as much water as a particularly deep bucket.

Posted by: Ojimaru.8970

Ojimaru.8970

Warrior.
Elementalist.
Necromancer (Kind of, depends on how far you consider ‘ranged’)
Mesmer.
Engineer’s weapons are all ranged, they have no melee. (Some of their skills are close-range though, and they have kits)

The Ranger says “HellooOoooOOOOOoooo!”

Posted by: Critwrench.8432

Critwrench.8432

The Ranger says “HellooOoooOOOOOoooo!”

Most highly-effective ranger builds involve melee, and the Longbow is generally considered a subpar weapon overall. Your other options are the Shortbow, which is best when used for flanking, or axes, which are “kind-of” ranged.

A shallow ocean only contains as much water as a particularly deep bucket.

Posted by: Serval.6458

Serval.6458