Whats a good ranged profession to start?

in Players Helping Players

Posted by: warcraftdude.7829

warcraftdude.7829

Hi guys Im relatively new to GW2 and would like to level an alt (which will eventually be my main). I already have a warrior at 80 and was thinking about making a ranged character but wasnt sure what would have a easy -ish play style. Im mostly into pve but if i do pvp im not really fussed about being the most elite and untouchable class out there. I would like something nice and easy to level thats ranged (if that exists). I have heard elementalists and mesmers are like shoving splinters of hot iron under your finger nails to level but i want to hear YOUR opinions.

Posted by: Donari.5237

Donari.5237

I’d agree Elementalist is a royal pain if you’re new to stuff. Heck, with 7 80’s under my belt, my Ele is just past 30 and I made her at launch. Mesmer, on the other hand, has proven so fun I have 2 of them at 80 (though I did level them both after I got very familiar with the game).

I’m not a twitch reflex person by any means, and there was a learning curve on Mesmer with figuring out how to keep those clones and phantasms up and when to hit what shatter, but in the end it’s been a delight.

Other than that, many people say Ranger is easy, though I dislike dealing with the pet and how easily it dies. I’ve got two Necromancers at 80; staff gives them good ranged aoe and a skill-6 minion takes the aggro heat off without any micromanagement.

Posted by: roostapro.9827

roostapro.9827

I would say the following:

Ranger – very forgiving class which has pets that can “Distract” the enemy (Though at Higher levels, PvE mobs seem to ignore the pets at times) Mediocre defense/damage meaning you can kill fast, while still being alive.