Can these classes EVER be balanced? Doubt it.

in PvP

Posted by: Laserbolt.6731

Laserbolt.6731

I have a masters level degree in computer science and in trying to solve hugely complex problems with potentially millions of combinations of factors.

This game’s PvP system feels like that. There are SO many possible interactions among the class attacks, defensive moves, timing factors, and debuffs… that it will never be balanced for all players.

It’s what they call a “combinatorial explosion”.

For one thing, new players and experienced players are playing two different games. New players don’t know how to counter Hundred Blades. Experienced teams now often don’t even bother to bring a warrior to tPvP because the warrior is shut down by players who understand how to counter the warrior.

Balance the game for experienced players, and the noobs get smashed.

In that respect, ArenaNet is absolutely correct to FIRST: get ranked matches working. Let people play against people with the same limited knowledge and skills.

That, and their plans to revamp the sPvP points system to reward a different sort of play style.

That may be all they will be able to ever achieve, as far as leveling the playing field.

Scrapper: “Frank from Research”

(edited by Laserbolt.6731)

in PvP

Posted by: Seether.7285

Seether.7285

“Balance for all players” is an impossibility if you are basing ideas of balance around people’s perceptions.

“Noobs” in any game always get smashed, and in pretty much any game with profession differentiation you will have new players calling things imbalanced which experienced players think is fine. This doesn’t mean that aspect is actually imbalanced, nor does balancing around experienced players guarantee that “noobs get smashed” as you put it.