Casual perspective: S5 great, S6 no thanks

in PvP

Posted by: Shwyx.8190

Shwyx.8190

I started playing PvP (again) with S5, obviously being enticed to do so due to the rewards. The season wasn’t perfect from a technical perspective but I sticked around and finished in silver league. I can only assume that attracting non-PvPers to the game mode was what had been intended.

With S6 I was hoping for an improvement but the downgraded rewards have just made the various flaws so much more apparent:

• sub-par class balance
  • class stacking still exists
  • duo-queuing is still possible
  • map quality varies wildly

From a strictly “fun” point of view PvP is now – again – barely better than WvW. I don’t see myself spending a lot of time on it.

So, an update after around 40 ranked matches.

I’m ranked ~1200 silver and I’m frequently seeing teams with 2 necros and 2 warriors. Class stacking is a nightmare. Competent duo queuers, esp. double warrior, just crush random teams unless you happen to have excellent support players on board. S6 “meta” seems to be all about stunlocks and conditions, even worse than previous season.

To add insult to injury, I’m seeing the same people repeatedly – at silver rating, mind you, and at EU prime time.

I wanted to finish the ascended backpack but I’m really at a loss. The game mode may be “active” in the sense that people are playing it, but it’s very clearly showing its neglect.

(edited by Shwyx.8190)

in PvP

Posted by: zealex.9410

zealex.9410

well they scrapped the “completely joke asc armor aquisition from that list of problems” i say give in due time they will get the rest.

in PvP

Posted by: Kako.1930

Kako.1930

This is by far the worst season. It feels like it’s still the off season lol. It’s just uneventful and nothing feels like an achievement. I agree with you entirely.

in PvP

Posted by: Kir Sakar.3647

Kir Sakar.3647