Let's talk about the new patch, here.

in PvP

Posted by: aerodynamique.5267

aerodynamique.5267

Okay. I’m going to try to be pretty analytic in my post. I’ve been playing GW2 competitively for about four years. I was here through Season 1. I was here for after the specialization patch, when Shadow Arts Thief became a thing, and Thief was so unkillable that Bloodlust sigil was meta.

So, I am being very literal when I say: This is actually probably one of the worst balance patches I’ve ever seen.

Anet probably tried to normalize for power creep over the years, but only with certain classes, because (I guess) they have some sort of handy-dandy statistic spreadsheet that showed that Dragonhunter had a higher winrate than most classes? I don’t know. They seem to have nerfed some classes to a vague pre-HoT state, but left others exactly the same.

Inherently, I don’t think that nerfing a class that had a high winrate in pugs is a bad idea. At the same time, however, I think that you should really consider what you’re nerfing. Dragonhunter is obviously a pugstomping class; nobody will contest that. However, anyone that actually knew how the class worked realized that it’s honestly not that hard to play around. And even if it was overpowered…did it really deserve that violent of a gutting? I don’t know. Dragonhunter players are basically stuck to lower tiers, now. I don’t think it’s a viable class anywhere above mid-Gold, now.