Liven up PvP

Liven up PvP

in PvP

Posted by: Earthshaker.9123

Earthshaker.9123

I’m more of a PvE person, but I enjoy the occasional PvP – even since GW1, I would drop the daily “routine” of farming voltaics or UW and join (any) PvP mode, for fun and profit.

When I started playing GW2, I was busy enough with the content to neglect the PvP part, until the inevitable “I’m bored of this, I want to do something different, to have fun !” and clicked the crossed swords icon.
A couple of fights later, and first question popped up “So, what keeps me wanting to play PvP over PvE ?”. Fun, sure – even if some complain about certain OP classes or various imbalances that are prone to appear in this mode.

Profit ? Yeah…about that. I ended up quickly gathering the armor set I wanted via forge, and spent all the remaining glory on golden chests, only to get rewarded with skins I would probably never use and the occasional dyes.
That’s where I got reminded that in GW1 we had the Zaishen Keys (sort-of equivalent of our current Black Lion Keys), that were obtainable via faction trade (same as glory), and used to unlock chests with similar results to the BLC (tonics, skins to name but a few).
You didn’t want the key ? Why, you could had easily sold it for solid amount of cash – cash that could be used in PvE. Sounds unfair to those who prefer PvP over PvE ? Blame the devs, the idea was kept in the game for as long as I can tell, and it provided a different/fun/motivating alternative to those who were bored of PvE, or, simply just wanted a reason to try PvP

Some people prefer PvP over PvE (or the other way around), and nobody should feel forced to do either. ANET did a good job on not making either side feel persecuted for their preferences but, as of GW2, and, to repeat myself “What does motivate one to keep on PvP-ing?”. Or better yet, “Why should I PvP?”.