MMR (Course for Dummies!)

in PvP

Posted by: Lucius.2140

Lucius.2140

Im not an expert in MMR, neither a super PVPer, but after reading so much of the forum feedback/venting i can say most people are clueless about it, so i made this post to explain the basics of MMR:

MMR: Match Making Ratio its a skill rating and skill rating system that comes from Glicko 2, glicko 2 of course comes from glicko 1 that in itself is an improvement of ELO.

How you move on the MMR system:

Players are suposed to start at a determinated ratio (1200) and go up or down based on three important points:

- You won or lose.
-Against what MMR (team MMR) you did it, compared to yours.
- How certain the system its of your MMR.

The second point directly destroys the common idea of same win/lose ratio= same MMR, that doesnt normally happen, the system take in account against who you fight.

At the same time this explain why theres difference between skill rating winning and lose between players and why sometimes lose have a bigger value than wins (you had more chances to win).

It also makes so that when the system has litle people or a player group up with a lower MMR guy, he will not farm skill rating, because a meager win of skill rating points (in fact some skill rating systems make you lost a small quantity of points when you win against someone less skilled).

Third one has to do with the deviations: MMR works as an alghoritm, it becomes more precise by each match, the more accurate calculation it has of your true skill rating, the less it will deviate for wins and loses, it will still happens, but less. This is because you will lost and win, as a result your mmr fluctuate up and down between your real place and if this deviations arent restrained partially the quality of matches will be deteriorated, since you will be under or overrated by an amount (not big but stlll).