My Thoughts about Competitive PvP...

in PvP

Posted by: sonic.7592

sonic.7592

Hello everyone,

I’m pretty new to GW2 and tried sPvP only a few rounds. And actually, I have almost no incentive to continue playing it except having fun for a short time like playing Minesweeper, but not to invest time to really improbe skills and so on.
In the past I played games like CS, WC3, LoL, GW1. All of them are/were pretty successful in Esports. So I was thinking about it and I came to some thoughts and ideas which I want to share and get some feedback.

First of all, I read through some threads and the roadmap for the development of GW2 (especially PvP). In my opinion, the development goes in a wrong direction, because it is focusing too much on rewards and stuff. But to be honest? The games I mentioned above had barely rewards, but still they were incredebly successfull.

So what I think, which made the games successful in the Esports scene, is that they promoted top teams/players/guilds a lot through tournaments or leagues. I think, every Esport (and normal sport) need stars, where beginner or just casual player admire such high level plays and try to copy. And on the other hand, if there are such promotions, many player also try to be a top player, because a simple reason…. You can show that you are a “great” player. It is all about fame…
I have read that Anet is trying to implement the league system like in LoL or SC2, and I think this is a great step. But to continue this, Anet show build a really good observer mode like in GW1, where all people can watch the top league teams playing against each other. I remember times, where I watched in GW1 teams like War Machine or The Last Pride for hours. And so did a lot of other people. I think, for top player it is rewarding enough, if thousands other player watch you playing instead of getting just some gold and other loot….

Another point are the Queue Modes. So far, there are Hotjoins, SoloQ and TeamQ.