Ranked Refinements and Tweaks

in PvP

Posted by: Iason Evan.3806

Iason Evan.3806

This is a list of things I think could be done to the current structure of ranked play for future seasons:

1.) Do player placements and rankings by profession. Example: If I have 5 Elementalists on my account they are all the same rank which is different from my Guardian or Ranger rank and so on and so forth.

Note: Account wide ranking for solo duo ranked queue is awful. It’s awful because you have achievements tied to playing multiple classes in ranked and people’s ability varies wildly from profession to profession.

2.) Keep the solo/duo ranked queue but add a separate ranked team queue. Who cares if there aren’t a lot of people that play ranked team matches.

Note: You got rid of team arenas in GW1. You got rid of Ranked Team Queue in GW2. A pattern like that is an issue.

3.) Each profession deserves to have a Core Spec that is viable each season. The core specs are abysmal for the most part. There are meager options when it comes to build diversity and their effectiveness.

Note: This is a weakness when you don’t have 50-100 characters like you would in a MOBA that really give you options.

4.) This game is never going to be mainstream esports at this point in the game’s life cycle. It just isn’t. Not saying that to be snarky or anything. I have a blast playing this game, but watching it? No thanks. Adding more build variety and keeping it is a big deal for longevity. It’s been over a year since the expansion pack and there still arent new Elite Specs.

5.) Add the ability to purchase Elite Specs a la carte for f2p and core game owners.