Thank you, Anet! (Not sarcasm.)

in PvP

Posted by: The Game Slayer.7632

The Game Slayer.7632

I just want to start out by talking about my history with gw2. For the first year of the game, I pve’d and did a little bit of wvw. Nothing too major, just enjoying the game as a regular casual would.

For the second year, I stayed mostly in wvw. I mostly played ele and engi, and I wasn’t the best, despite me thinking I was at the time. (lol.) I could rotate and spam skills with d/d ele, 1 shot people with s/d ele. I could disengage with RTL whenever I wanted. (Oh, the old days.) Things were fun. So I stayed in wvw. This was pretty much my life in gw2 for most of the time.

Fast forward to ~august of last year. Then, I started playing thief. I joined a roaming guild, learned from some of the best, and honed in my mechanical skills. (To which I’m still improving to this very second, but before then I was at a plateau since the beginning of the game.) I could never get into spvp because I didn’t enjoy the game mode of conquest, nor did I enjoy facing 4 man pre-mades. It was dull. Then season 5 happened. Prior to season 5, I had only played 400 spvp games since launch. After season 5, I was sitting at 900 games played, and found myself ending up in top 250. Holy. Crap. I had never learned so much about this game until s5. Solo-duo queue made this possible. Someone like me can enter pvp and compete. You bet your kitten kitten I’m doing s6 right now and last time I checked I was ~r 90.