Why was solo queue removed?

in PvP

Posted by: shimmerless.4560

shimmerless.4560

I started playing the game again recently and apparently the entire solo queue system has been removed. As someone who has little interest in a mixed queue (and I believe many others feel likewise) this is a bit of a bummer for me.

Has there been any stated reason for this? I don’t really understand ArenaNet’s obsession with gutting out game content, but perhaps there was at least a qualification in this case?

in PvP

Posted by: AlbertoUlkesh.4517

AlbertoUlkesh.4517

in PvP

Posted by: Lordrosicky.5813

Lordrosicky.5813

Nobody knows why. Nobody ever asked for it but anet just decided to remove the player bases favourite feature.

Maybe they got told to by their #esports players who wanted more players to farm in team queue? And who didn’t like realising they weren’t gods when they solo queued and got rekt because they didn’t have the support of 4 other good players all in the right places…

That is my theory. Pretty sure I am right.

Character: Henry rank million/Duke Henry
Necromancer/Casual Warrior
[Team] Best WvW guild of all time. EASILY.

in PvP

Posted by: nekretaal.6485

nekretaal.6485

Because team Q was dying/ dead…. If it weren’t for players solo entering team Q to avoid Skyhammer, the mode would be dead with 5+ minute Queque times.

The update killed solo Q, but it also killed a lot of the appealing casual aspects of hot join, such as the ability to cycle through games until you found one you wanted to play.

So by cannibalizing two game modes, anet was able to reduce Q times.

#24 leaderboard rank North America.

in PvP

Posted by: SunnyLane.9386

SunnyLane.9386

Solo q was the best thing in this game, now i need to fight vs premades even if i don’t want to. They did wrong removing it.

in PvP

Posted by: Sebastian.4610

Sebastian.4610

yep solo queue removal was the worst thing ever. Punish 80-90% to please 10-20% of the players. smart.