sPvP and it not doing well

in PvP

Posted by: Deified.7520

Deified.7520

So I think its pretty obvious that the sPvP scene could be in a better position in terms of how many players play it. I’m in 5 guilds, most with 100 or high, 2 with close to 500. Out of them all only 30 or so players have touched solo que.

Now some common complaints are its not rewarding. Another is it doesn’t have enough connection to PvE. Others say its boring. Then I got to think about esports and popular esports and I realized something. They have same aspects. Take LoL for example. One game mode, dont have all characters unlocked, nothing big in terms of rewards. New skins are one of the few rewards. Guess what, Gw2 has that all.

The biggest difference I found is that one is a MMO and one is a MOBA. So it got my thinking that it may lie not in what is given to the players, but rather the mechanics.

Now I’m not saying I’m an expert. This is my opinion. However, since release I noticed something about this games meta in terms of builds and combat. It is very very spam heavy. Most popular builds involve spamming. The recent big balance patch with necros only magnified it because now not only was there physical damage spamming, but condition spamming. With condition spamming it is a lot more clear when something is being spammed because you’re not seeing just numbers. You’re seeing actual red boxes. So the tell signs are a lot stronger.

Now you may be saying, if the game is spammy why is WvW so much more popular than spvp? I’ve often asked myself the same thing. Not only can they show off their PvE gear, but the games mechanic and combat problems aren’t too noticeable. In zergs its easy to chalk it up to just a zerg fight and big numbers. In roaming groups you often dont experience it because you’re either out numbered or the enemy is.