Suggestions from a experienced MMO gamer

in Suggestions

Posted by: Wolftech.6950

Wolftech.6950

Before I get to my suggestions, I should tell you a bit about myself so that you know where I am coming from. I have been a gamer for decades (started as a child in the late 70s on pinball, pong, Space Invaders, Atari 2600 and D&D). My first MMOs (not counting MUDs) were Meridian 59, the Neverwinter Nights and Ultima Online. I have played (and beta tested) several MMOs (with WoW from Dec 2004-present) over the years, so I like to think I have some experience. I am not a big PVP player so I passed on the first Guild Wars. I pre-ordered this one because several of my guild were doing the same. I played it for a few months and was not happy with the PVP focus of the game. A few months ago, I picked it up again and have been having a lot of fun (so much, I play it more than WoW these days) but there are a few things I have noticed that I would love to see implemented.

• Moveable/Adjustable UI – I realize this is a big one but not having the ability to allow a player to move and individually scale UI elements (or hide necessary ones) is a serious design flaw, in my opinion. It is 2013 not 2003.
  • Toggle for neutral/quest/resource nameplates. – I can turn players and mobs on and off, but if I want to see quest objects and resources, I have to hold down a button? This is probably one of my biggest annoyances that would be a simple fix.
  • Ranger Pet name permanence. It really breaks immersion to see “juvenile XXXX” when you should see the pets name just because you swapped to a different pet in that slot.
  • Crafting and Achievements on separate windows. The Hero panel should be just for equipping items and traits/abilities.
  • Total item count on tooltip. I would love the ability to mouse over something in my inventory and know how many I have on hand. Even if was restricted to collectables, it would make life a lot easier.

in Suggestions

Posted by: Bismuth.3165