Commander Compendium : WvW Combat and Tactics

in WvW

Posted by: Hamster.4861

Hamster.4861

Hey Everyone, I’ve been working on a project lately and I believe it’s finally time to share it.

When I started playing WvW, there were many enthusiastic, helpful and skilled players who made it their business to make sure that everyone around them knew what was going on in WvW, and why. However, players come and go, and often they do not pass along the knowledge that they’ve earned to others.

I’ve spent the last few months researching, collecting footage, asking questions of this forum, in order to create a guide that would be an updated, and more combat oriented version of Theongreyjoy’s incredibly comprehensive WvW guide, which you can find here: guildwars2.ro/Ghid-WvW.pdf

So! To the point, I’ve assembled this Commander’s Compendium, which contains all of the information that I was taught, and all of the information that I’ve collected in order to teach myself and others to zergbust, GvG and play effectively in the WvW environment. This is intended to be an educational resource for everyone, the entire forum community contributed to it’s creation, whether you knew it or not.

http://www.tinyurl.com/WvW-Combat-and-Tactics-doc
(Commander’sCompendium.pdf 14,563KB)

What it contains:
Introduction to WvW,
25 player Composition & Party Structure
Combos, Map Objectives, WvW Skills and Concepts
Leadership Skills, Trait Synergies, Siege Outline
Small and Large scale combat basics
Class Roles (GWEN+M+T+Eng)
Advanced Combat Tactics

There are many videos that are referenced inside, which serve as visual examples of many of the tactics and roles that are described in the document.

As with all things, this guide can be improved! Some of the things that I think can improve this guide are:
Video: Thief PoV, Gank Squad in 15v15 or 20v20
Video: Mesmer PoV, Gank Squad in 15v15 or 20v20
More proofing for clarity, grammatical, or spelling errors.