Discussion: Strategy for Small Party in WvW

in WvW

Posted by: Hwarang.4789

Hwarang.4789

Hi! I’ve recently become an enthusiast in strategy and tactics. I began reading books like 33 Strategies of War, Art of War and The Book of Five Rings, and I’m itching to apply what I’ve learned, to the WvW battlefield.

However, since I’m an amateur when it comes to understanding anything when it comes to strategy, I’m at a loss. On top of this, warfare in real life vs warfare in a game where there are so many limitations; really seem to differ.

Since I need time to gather 350g to buy a commander tag anyways, I was curious to learn and hear from other experienced commanders who have been leading in WvW for a long while. Specifically the strategy behind leading small groups, as my friends are in two low populated servers: Anvil Rock and Ferguson’s Crossing.

In the meantime, I hope to study the map and wait for some good advice! Thank you for your time ^^

in WvW

Posted by: Chinchilla.1785

Chinchilla.1785

Strategy and Tactics? As you stated, real warfare doesn’t translate into this very well. In fact, real war is boring a lot of the times. Just watch Das Boot (movie about life on a German U-boat).

If you want to win I am afraid it’s less about tactics. If you want to have fun that’s also another story.

For “winning” if it’s even applicable:

1. Don’t die, it gives the team a point.
2. Attack unoccupied objectives, you waste less time and potentially die less.
3. Have more numbers in people, items, supply, siege, and anything really.
4. Stomp for more points.
5. Buy guilds to fill dead time-zones because Coverage and population wins (harder to do nowadays)

Now ask, are any of these things fun? I have my preferences, but it’s up to you!

RISE guild best guild super RPers trash blob guild [RISE] masters of the die on inc technique.

Trinity Of Our EU Lords [Kazo] Zudo Jason Betta

in WvW

Posted by: RodOfDeath.5247

RodOfDeath.5247