Getting Started (Newbie)

Getting Started (Newbie)

in WvW

Posted by: ekarat.1085

ekarat.1085

I’m a newbie and have had a hard time getting started. I show up and ask. People scream “NEED MOAR HELP IN SE.” I go there and get killed by the mob outside without getting a chance to help. As far as I can tell, there is no WP inside (or maybe I have never activated it, or does WvWvW even work that way?).

I’m willing to make supply runs and build siege. (Sometimes it lets me build siege and sometimes it doesn’t, and I don’t see why.) I’m not sure how I’m supposed to get past the huge mobs when I die in 2-5 seconds from the horde. That doesn’t seem like helping to me.

Note that I still don’t even have my first rank up.

Getting Started (Newbie)

in WvW

Posted by: Kanebrake.6192

Kanebrake.6192

What server are you on?
Might be someone who can specifically help you one on one or get you into a group if they know where to look.

What level is your character?
Not a “80 only!!!” type of guy but… there’s a definite disadvantage to playing wvw on an uplevel. Despite what they say about scaling. I’ve been doing wvw since the game came out and being on an uplevel even with all that experience is miserable.

What is your build?
Plug it in here, click “get quick link” and paste it.

Are you on voice comms?
In the beginning finding a pin (commander tag) on the map, hopping into the right voice comm channel and simply following the zerg is probably the best thing for you to do. You’ll pick up a lot just listening, and watching what everyone does.

BG

Getting Started (Newbie)

in WvW

Posted by: Jim Hunter.6821

Jim Hunter.6821

What profession do you mostly play? Do you have access to stability, leaps, stealth, blocks, etc. that will let you get through the door?

What kind of gear are you wearing? You might not want to be full zerk until you are better at positioning and fighting other players.