Gw2 PvP broken?

Gw2 PvP broken?

in WvW

Posted by: connieboy.9840

connieboy.9840

I am completely new to the game, just rolled a Mesmer and have tried my hand at some WvW. It is my understanding that you get a soft boost to 80 in order to be of some worth to your team (my Mesmer is level 20 outside of WvW).

I have tried roaming and doing some 1v1 encounters. It seems like there is no class I can best. I ran into a thief earlier guarding a point, and I believe he was afk at first. It took me 5-10 seconds to get him to about 60%, at which point he must have returned, as he went into stealth, and within less than a second of reappearing on me, I went 100-0.

So my question is, does the outlook get better as you level up/get actual gear?
Or is this what I should expect from GW2 PvP, and just give up before I get too far.

Gw2 PvP broken?

in WvW

Posted by: Jscull.2514

Jscull.2514

What are you used to? Gw2 is one of the “smoothest” combat games I have played. Balance doesn’t exist, and just like every other game in the past 5-7 years most people run “stay alive at all costs” builds due to fear of ridicule via losing.

99% of the population play the game to win. Winning at all cost. Less than 1% try to challenge themselves outside of a realm of comfort (comfort being guaranteeing numbers for victory surrounding them).

That all being said, it does offer a platform for “open” pvp. My suggestion, ask around for people who think, play, have backgrounds in gaming like you…. And stick with them.

PAXA -GM

Gw2 PvP broken?

in WvW

Posted by: UltraHiDef.4809

UltraHiDef.4809

You’re level 20, your armor and damage is that of a level 20. You won’t do much, and your just a rallybot in WvW.

Gw2 PvP broken?

in WvW

Posted by: Barret.4095

Barret.4095

yes an up leveled is pretty much a free kill. it is pretty much like a lvl80 with lvl20 gear vs. a lvl80 with lvl80 gear + ascended gear.