Impact of physical appearance?

in WvW

Posted by: Qaelyn.7612

Qaelyn.7612

In “real war”, camouflage is an important consideration. If we had different races in the real world, an asura darting around wearing mottled brown armor would be a lot harder to detect than a norn wearing shiny plate armor.

But in WvW there’s a complicating factor, the block of text that floats overhead.

So since I am not experienced, my question is: does physical appearance actually make any difference? Is it harder to notice, find and hunt down a character of one particular type compared to another based on character and gear appearance choices, rather than profession/skills?

in WvW

Posted by: Contiguous.1345

Contiguous.1345

Oh yess indeedie it does!

Mouse-selecting a target becomes much harder if you can’t hit the box. Even if it’s the same size for all characters, it’s more difficult to select small characters in a melee. That’s why some people use shape-transforms occasionally.

And for mesmers, choice of armour colour is important to make your phantasms more believable.

in WvW

Qaelyn.7612

Interesting point about the mesmer, thanks.

My thief is the smallest possible asura with medium brown skin and grayish mottles, and armor with brown tones. She actually does “blend into the shadows” pretty darned well most of the time, but I wondered about that text box…

in WvW

Posted by: Kaos.9162

Kaos.9162

Being an asura can also help you, skills that are telegraphed (like killshot) are a lot harder to notice on an asura, especially if it’s in a zerg or if you’re fighting one as a bigger character.

in WvW

Posted by: gnotshr.9136

gnotshr.9136

As Contiguous said, it is harder to click on you; when you are in a group of other people, guards, or mobs, it increases that advantage.

Your red name will always will be there, however yours will be lower then other races. This makes it possible to hide behind certain terrain that is too low for others to hide behind.

in WvW