Is the verticality needed in wvw?

in WvW

Posted by: YaYa.5879

YaYa.5879

Ok so i’m a new wvw player. I mostly played PVE and PVP.
In Maguma the verticality is awesome because you can use it and enjoy it with a glider.
But in WvW is it really usefull?

I am not experienced enough on that matter to throw affirmations and critics, but so far (even if the borderlands maps are gorgeous), the verticality seems like a waists of time that keeps me from joining my party or some locations.

Besides when I roam ont the new borderland maps, most times: i never really see roamers of the opposite sides to brawl with.
On the other hand, i logged in 30 minutes on eternal battlegrounds today, and brawled with at least 3-4 roaming groups. T’was fun.

So my point is. The verticality in wvw is only interesting (in the sens that a game should be fun and not mostly spending time to go from point A to point if you can take advantage of it (like with a glider). Otherwise it just is a useless disadvantage and waist of time In my opinion

Then again, there is apparantly going to be a “huge wvw revamp”.
I don’t know (or think) that it’s gonna change the architecture of the map. But the last PVE patch that changed fractals and rewards, made me hopefull that the wvw changes are gonna make me happy

in WvW

Posted by: Ovalkvadratcylinder.9365

Ovalkvadratcylinder.9365

I don’t like the verticality either. It’s as you say; no fun taking so much time to get around the map.

in WvW

Posted by: Dawdler.8521

Dawdler.8521

Yes and no. Unfortunetly, desert border is a few yes and a dozen no.

In some aspects, verticality can make a decently interesting area. North of hills is a great example. You got the high bridge, the wider field next to it, the tower straight north and the canyons into the camp. Every area seem to serve its own little purpose. Its not so bad in moderation.