New to WvW... question

New to WvW... question

in WvW

Posted by: Sokane.1957

Sokane.1957

Hey, all. I’m fairly new to GW2 in general (3-4 months) and have been mostly doing PvE (open world, dungeons, a few fotm). Recently, I’ve started jumping into WvW and have been having a good time. For the most part, it’s been in a zerg setting.

I’d like to play more of a roaming style. Small group and solo both. When I go small group it will likely be with a few friends of mine. (Duo with a necro or group of 3 with a guard/range.. I play an engi). I know most people regard thief, warrior, and mesmer as the 3 better roamers, but my question is… Are there any professions that are inherently weak at solo/small group roaming?

Thanks in advance.

Fenrit-Engineer-Ehmry Bay
Sokane Noctua-Mesmer-Ehmry Bay

New to WvW... question

in WvW

Posted by: johnnymiller.5968

johnnymiller.5968

I think it comes down to the skill of individual players; When i first joined WvW a group of seven including myself were taken out by an engineer. Today I watched a video of some player calling themselves the ‘best player in the world’ – yeah they were okay for a ranger me thinks. Having the right build for your character plus being a quick thinker goes a long way. Learned the hard way myself more than once because of my indecisiveness at times.

New to WvW... question

in WvW

Posted by: Banzie.5248

Banzie.5248

I believe all classes have builds and set ups that can be used to great effect in WvW Roaming. The weakest I would say is guard still though if I had to name one.

Isle Of Janthir

New to WvW... question

in WvW

Posted by: Contiguous.1345

Contiguous.1345

Guardian.
Meet almost anyone 1v1 and unless he’s very bad, you’re dead.

(Sure you can spec to survive better – but only at the expense of being able to do your job in the zerg)

OTOH – with only a couple of mates – you suddenly become God!

New to WvW... question

in WvW

Posted by: Devon.9061

Devon.9061