WvW, EoTM, and The Megaserver

in WvW

Posted by: JMadFour.9730

JMadFour.9730

just want to preface this with the fact that I have very little WvW experience (little nervous about jumping in, when I haven’t leveled all the way up yet), so I’m just asking a theoretical question here to you full-time WvWers.

according to the Wiki page for EoTM:

Worlds will be matched according to which color they are in the current WvW matchup. For example, all green worlds will be on the same team in the Edge of the Mists.

so EoTM is not truly server-based, in its matchups?

How would you feel if EoTM were a testing ground for bringing the Megaserver System into WvW, and if at some point they replaced Server Matchups with a full-time Faction-based WvW war, a la Kurzick vs Luxon in GW1, but with 3 factions?

“Quaggan is about to foo up your day.” – Romperoo

(edited by JMadFour.9730)

in WvW

Posted by: neonreaper.4805

neonreaper.4805

EotM/Megaserver would help solve stale matchups, and with 3 hour scoring chunks would eliminate off-hour coverage/staying up late problems. With traps and automatic updates, you don’t have to spend a lot of time worrying about scout incentives.

However you would lose out on reliable groups, server cultures, and voice comm. The tradeoff isn’t really worth it.

[BE] Pumpkin / Rhinox3 / Reyn Time / Pale
Fort Aspenwood

in WvW

Posted by: Nymph of Meliai.6739

Nymph of Meliai.6739

it would destroy wvw… eotm is just karma train pvd 90% of the time… the points and weekly system of wvw gives something to defend for… defenders make more fights for attackers… as I keep saying over and over and over again to the gvg crowd… you need defenders and points in order to have fights or you just end up eotm pvd boredom.