[const.] How to fix the WvW and Guild PvP

in WvW

Posted by: Pimpi.7843

Pimpi.7843

Hello everyone,
Some of you might know me as the guy who organised the ESL GvG Ladder.

I’m a dedicated WvW player since the betas and I’m a veteran GW1 player who focused on PvP (be it AB, HA or GvG)

To understand the core of WvW, we need to understand it’s roots:
It is most compareable to the GW1 alliance battles.
You had objectives to capture by killing a few NPC’s on the point.
ANet understood to split the “big” group of 12 players into 3 small groups to have small scirmishes, but to pull them on certain points together to have epic big fights with a 12v12.
In WvW you have the same roots, with some upgrades to the capture points. you have big fights but the splitting of the big group is not given somehow, so there should be a promotion in the game for splitting the big zerg into small groups to cap different objectives.
WvW is a PvP/PvE mode, but the PvE part of it should concentrate on the necessary things, like objective defenders. the rest of the PvE environment is there to make the map more lively, but this is not needed and can cause performance issues since this is server resources spend. so remove all the neutral creatures (they don’t have a big use to the WvW experience anyways) the neutral events could be used in a better way as well, instead of letting them stand around somewhere in the world, why not letting a neutral group attack an objective to get the player split as well.
WvW shouldn’t be about avoiding fights, it should promote PvP battles. So give the maps a more open look, the Desert Borderlands are nice to look at but it’s really easy to miss a fight. If the maps have clear ways to get from point A to point B people can flank them on the way or what ever. The maps still can look fancy but there is no need for 5 different levels. With more fights people will have more fun with the Game Mode overall and will enjoy the sieges as well.
Next the popluation issue: